Dumas Fire Department Annual Awards


Last Updated on December 23, 2020 – 9:21 AM CST

Dumas Fire Chief Ronald Pray announced the department’s annual award winners on December 15, 2020. The Dumas Fire Department also celebrated its 90th anniversary.

The Dumas Volunteer Fire Department was officially organized on December 1, 1930. The original organization consisted of Fire Chief R.L. Spencer, Assistant Fire Chief S.H. Hale, and 22 other volunteer firefighters.

The City of Dumas purchased its first fire truck in 1930 for $5,500 and it was the only piece of firefighting equipment in operation until 1944 when the city purchased a second unit. In comparison, the City of Dumas purchased a new ladder truck in 2020 for $1.4 million.

Special Appreciation Award- Mrs. Robbie Cartrite
FF of the Year- Lt. Daniel Anderson
Responder of the Year- Capt. Ricky Mcminn
Rookie of the Year- FF Ethan Pray
Explorer of the Year- Cade Mild